Skip to content

Mondays with Miss Mason

December 26, 2010

I am very excited to begin the new school semester. Of course, I had all these grand plans about how much planning I was going to get done over the holidays. So far, nada–but I am hopeful now that my husband is off work for the week.

With a mere one semester of homeschooling under my belt, I am nowhere close to offering much advice. However, I do know someone to whom I look –Miss Charlotte Mason. Perhaps you know her, too?

If you don’t, may I kindly point you to these wonderful resources to learn more about this revolutionary educator. Grab a cup of tea and visit:

Now, as soon as I learned of Miss Mason and her teaching philosophy, I knew I had found a kindred spirit. In practice, however, I have found myself swimming upstream in a raging current that goes very contrary to what she advocates. I keep finding myself comparing my son’s educational experience to those of people we know (mostly public school students) and continually second-guessing this or that.

Of course, a main reason WHY we homeschool is that I felt the current requirements on kindergartners were not age-appropriate. Yet I find myself drifting merrily along down the stream of “more, more,more.”

I’ve decided that a good habit (oh, how Miss Mason loved habits!) would be to revisit Miss Mason’s guidance frequently-say weekly-to keep myself on track with what I believe to be a good path for educating my sons.

So I am beginning “Mondays with Miss Mason”–a short thought from the educator herself and perhaps some of my thoughts on the subject (we’ll just see). Maybe you will join me and link up with your own thoughts on the matter or Miss Mason’s.

We’ll start in January so come back next Monday!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 28, 2010 7:50 am

    Lovely idea – Mondays with Miss Mason. Thanks for mentioning my blog. The reading and writing about Mason has helped me so much in understanding her philosophy, so I’d say you’re on the right track! (I do have three boys, so I think I can play, too.)
    Godspeed,
    Nancy

    • December 28, 2010 8:02 am

      Thanks Nancy! I have gained a lot from your blog over the past year. Thank you for sharing your wisdom. And yes–you CAN play 🙂
      Blessings
      Chris

  2. January 12, 2011 6:40 am

    What a lovely idea. Inspired Monday stopover … Every week is More with Ms. Mason! I’m amazed how much I still need to learn and apply!

Trackbacks

  1. Mondays with Miss Mason–On Narration « Mothers of Boys

Leave a Reply

