Skip to content

I Thee Wed

February 9, 2011

Today is my 9th wedding anniversary.

I can’t believe it has been almost a decade since I walked down the aisle in a barn on an unseasonably warm February day.

My husband and I were telling our son the story of how we met last night and it got me thinking about family history and how telling the story of “us” strengthens the bond between us.

I told my son that tonight Daddy and I were going to say our vows to one another again (an annual tradition I have been known to forget!) It really struck me as how important it is, how accountable it makes me.

I wrote my vows

–a covenant, not just a promise.

–with God, not just my husband.

Repeating them in front of my children is another part of that promise. Another “I’ll hold you to it.”  I’m posting them here as well. I have no intention of forgetting them, but should I, please won’t you remind me?

My husband’s vows to me

I take you to be my beloved wife.

I vow before God and those present to love you as Christ loved the church.

I will be the best friend, lover, and leader that you desire.

Also a husband and father led by Christ Jesus.

I will rejoice and worship with you, and console you in times of sickness or sorrow.

I will love and cherish you all of my days.

You are my Love and my Blessing!

These are my vows to my husband:

I take you to be my husband and I promise to be a praying wife who adores, supports, cherishes and respects her husband.

Everyday I will work beside you to keep Christ in the center of our marriage and to make it all that it can be.

And when the arrows come, I will fight beside you, defending God’s gift so that everyone can say, “This is what our God can do.”

From this day forward, my heart, my body, and my soul are forever connected to yours.

And I will honor these promises tomorrow and for every tomorrow that comes.

Happy early Valentines Day! Go hug on somebody!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 9, 2011 4:53 pm

    Just beautiful. How wonderful that you recite these in front of your children, too.

    Ring true,
    Nancy

  2. Lori permalink
    February 9, 2011 9:39 pm

    Lovely! And very touching, as well.

  3. February 10, 2011 8:01 am

    Beautiful photo. I am also a mother of boys – aren’t they the BEST?

  4. February 13, 2011 3:32 pm

    I was just thinking about my own vows recently when I attended a wedding. It reminded me of all the things I had covenanted with my husband.

Leave a Reply

