Skip to content

My very first meme!

September 17, 2011

After blogging for nearly a year, I have been invited to my very first meme!  I was so excited that Nancy at Sage Parnassus invited me to play.

Here goes . . .

1.  One homeschooling book you have enjoyed –

A Charlotte Mason Companion by Karen Andreola

 

2.  One resource you wouldn’t be without –
my planner, specifically my calendar that tells me what we do in general on Mondays, Tuesdays, etc.  I tend to forget what day certain subjects fall on.
3.  One resource you wish you had never bought –

Handwriting Without Tears CD– I love the HWT program, but the song CD was a waste. My son has NO interest in playing along and I felt like a fool trying to act out the songs with no one participating. Back to the consignment store with that one!

 

4.  One resource you enjoyed last year –

Random House Book of Poetry for Children (edited by Jack Prelutsky)

 

5.  One resource you will be using next year –

I got a Nook over the summer so I’m hoping to use it more and more.

 

6. One resource you would like to buy –

of course — iPad!

 

7.  One resource you wish existed –

Stealing this one from Nancy and looking forward to its availability!

Non-profit ChildLightUSA Developing New Mason Curriculum  
Dedicated to recovering and promoting Charlotte Mason’s educational theories and practices, ChildLightUSA is developing a curriculum meticulously modeled after what Mason describes in her six volumes.  A seven-member Design Team is changing the current paradigm of education, collaborating on a rich, modern and flexible K-12 Mason curriculum.  This new curriculum will feature Mason distinctives such as 18 subjects per grade level for use in various educational venues including public, charter, private and web-based learning communities. The projected release date is fall of 2012.

 

8. One homeschool catalog you enjoy reading –

Winter Promise –I’ve never bought anything from them, but I enjoy perusing it!

 

9.  One homeschool website you use regularly –

Ambleside Online.  I could not do Mondays with Miss Mason without them! God bless!

 

10. Tag six other homeschoolers –
I read blogs voraciously but I haven’t yet gotten to know all the bloggers so I don’t think I have six to tag. Also a lot of my homeschooling friends locally don’t have blogs. Here are a few  that I enjoy:

Naomi of Living Charlotte Mason in California
Amber at These Small Hours
Kris at Science of Relations

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 17, 2011 1:34 pm

    Thanks for playing, Chris! I totally forgot to mention my lesson plans – you’re right, I’d be lost without my planner. I update on the weekend for the upcoming week. Each child has their own chart updated each week. My calendar is now totally on my ipad and I’m lost if I don’t look at it every morning.

    Great answers – I’m sure you sparked a new idea for some homeschoolers!

    Admiration, Hope and Love,
    Nancy

  2. September 23, 2011 7:04 pm

    Thank you for the tag! It was my second, not surprising considering what a small community we really are. So here’s a link to my responses: http://livingcminca.blogspot.com/2011/09/homeschool-meme.

  3. September 23, 2011 7:07 pm

    Oops, that didn’t work. Sorry, here you go: http://livingcminca.blogspot.com/2011/09/homeschool-memehttpwwwbloggercomimgblan.html

Leave a Reply

